Campaign Overview

The Campaign Overview 

  • The Alliance goal is to change practice by raising awareness of the opportunities to lower radiation dose in the imaging of children.  
  • The Alliance strategy is straightforward: by providing information and free educational materials  to every member of the care team.  
    • If you have information that would be of value, provide it here. This is a team effort.  

Campaign Timeline and Leadership

  • The Image Gently Alliance began as a committee within the Society for Pediatric Radiology in late 2006.
  • In 2007, the SPR leadership reached out to friends and colleagues in sister societies representing the key members of the imaging team, ACR, ASRT and AAPM to form "the Writers Group." These organizations developed the concept of the Alliance, and their representatives developed the Image Gently® campaign in the summer of 2007.

The Image Gently Campaign and the Image Gently Alliance rely on the generous donations of resources from the founding organizations (Society for Pediatric Radiology, American College of Radiology,  American Society for Radiologic Technologists, and the American Association of Physicists in Medicine), all Alliance Organizations, supporters, and Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center. The leadership gratefully acknowledges the time, talent and expertise from representatives of GE Healthcare, Phillips Healthcare, Toshiba America, and Siemens Medical Systems, who are committed to improving healthcare for children through activities related to this campaign.

The Alliance is grateful for the unrestricted educational grant from GE Healthcare made in 2007.  The campaign does not accept corporate financial donations at this time.

Image Gently® FAQs translation in Portugese. 


Steering Committee

  • The Steering Committee members are:
  • Don Frush, MD, Chair

    Keith Strauss, MSc, Vice-Chair

    Marilyn Goske, MD, FAAP

    Kimberly Applegate, MD 

    John Boice, Jr. Sc.D.

    Jennifer Boylan, MA

    Sam Brady, MD

    Fred Fahey, DSc

    Shawn Farley 

    Elliot Fishman, MD

    Dustin Gress, MS, DABR, DABSM

    R. Paul Guillerman, MD

    Marta Hernanz-Schulman, MD 

    Edward Lee, MPH, MD

    Matt Lungren, MD

    Sarah McKenney, PhD, DABR

    Greg Morrison, CAE, MA, RT (R), CNMT, ASRT

    Luke Person, MD

    Anitha Potluri, BDS, DMD, MDsc

    Madan Rehani, PhD

    Janet Reid, MD, FRCPC

    Alexander Towbin, MD

    Penny Butler, MS, Steering Committee Member Emeritus

    Robin Yurchuck